Sri Lanka replaced as the host of the U19 Cricket World Cup

Written by
Sri Lanka replaced as the host of the U19 Cricket World Cup

The 15th ICC Men’s U19 Cricket World Cup 2024 host country was announced by the ICC Board in January.

The ICC Board meeting today confirmed that South Africa will host the ICC Men’s U19 Cricket World Cup 2024 in January, replacing Sri Lanka as the current host.

Sri Lanka Cricket (SLC) was recently suspended by the International Cricket Council (ICC) for breaching its membership requirements, especially for not handling its affairs independently and without interference from the government.

After the board meeting, it was revealed that Sri Lanka can still participate in international cricket matches, both in bilateral and ICC events. However, the ICC will be in charge of SLC’s funding, and as a result, the U19 event will now take place in the same nation as the Women’s U19 T20 World Cup earlier this year.

The U19 men’s tournament will be held for the fifteenth time at the World Cup, having concluded with India’s fifth-ever victory in the West Indies in 2022.

With fifteen other teams competing for the prized victory, India will need to put forth the greatest possible effort.

A new Super Six stage in which the semi-finalists will follow the Group round in the revised tournament format.

The 16 teams who took part were divided up into four groups of four. In Group A, Bangladesh, Ireland, and the United States are joined by defending champion India. England, South Africa, the West Indies, and Scotland are in Group B. Australia, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, and Namibia comprise Group C, whereas Afghanistan, Pakistan, New Zealand, and Nepal form Group D.

The tournament, which gets started in January, will include 41 matches, with the Final taking place in February.

Article Categories:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.