PSL 9: Arif Yaqoob and Azam Khan shatter records

Written by
PSL 9: Arif Yaqoob and Azam Khan shatter records

Azam Khan, a batter for Islamabad United, and Arif Yaqoob, a spinner for Peshawar Zalmi, were both excellent in yesterday’s Pakistan Super League (PSL) season 9 encounter.

In just 21 balls, Azam scored the fastest fifty in PSL 9. Earlier in the tournament, against Peshawar Zalmi, the hard-hitting right-hander broke Dawid Malan’s record in just 22 balls.

In the meantime, Arif Yaqoob became the first bowler in PSL history to claim four wickets in a single over.
It should be noted that in the 13 PSL 9 encounter, Peshawar Zalmi beat Islamabad United by eight runs thanks to Babar Azam’s eleventh T20 century and Arif Yaqoob’s fifer.

After the posting of a score of 202 runs, Peshawar held Islamabad to 193/9. Peshawar had won the competition three times in a row with that victory.

After an amazing partnership between Colin Munro and Azam Khan for the fourth wicket, Islamabad looked set to win, but Yaqoob’s four-wicket haul in the 19th over turned the tide back in Peshawar’s favour.

Yaqoob concluded the year with a great 5/27 score.

Brief summary of scores:

Islamabad United was defeated by Peshawar Zalmi by eight runs.

20 overs, Peshawar Zalmi 201-5 (Saim Ayub 38, Babar Azam 111 not out, Shadab Khan 2-28)

Arif Yaqoob 527, Azam Khan 75, Colin Munro 71, and Islamabad United 193-9, 20 overs

Player of the match: Peshawar Zalmi’s Babar Azam

Article Categories:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.