The Islam’s Five Pillars

Written by
Islam's Five Pillars

The fundamental guidelines of Islamic behavior are the five pillars: the profession of faith (shahada), prayer (salah), almsgiving (zakat), fasting (sawm), and pilgrimage (hajj). Regardless of ecclesiastical, regional, or sectarian distinctions, they are acknowledged by Muslims everywhere.

All serious Sunni and Shi’a followers of the Prophet Muhammad are expected to uphold the pillars, although this does not imply that all people who identify as Muslims do so regularly. Like all religions, there are different situations and different levels of commitment among believers. Age, stage of life, employment, obligations to one’s family, health, and wealth are all relevant.

What are the Islamic five pillars?

1.A Statement of Faith (shahada)

Islam’s core tenet is that “There is no god but God, and Muhammad is the Messenger of God.” This Arabic phrase is frequently shown prominently in architecture and a variety of items, including the Qur’an, the holy book of divine revelations of Islam. By sincerely repeating this verse, one becomes a Muslim.

2.Daily prayer (salat)

Five times a day, Muslims pray facing Mecca: in the morning, at midday, in the middle of the afternoon, and the evening. On a little rug or mat designated specifically for this function, people sometimes pray, which involves reciting the first verse (sura) of the Qur’an.

Muslims have the option of praying privately at any location communally at a mosque, where the assembly is led in prayer by an imam. On Fridays, men congregate in the mosque for the midday prayer; women are welcome but are not required to attend. The imam offers prayers and leads a discussion on a specific religious subject after the prayer, which is followed by a lecture that centers on a verse from the Qur’an.


The required donation of a part of a Muslim’s excess wealth is known as zakat. In recent years, aid has been delivered in Gaza, Syria, Yemen, and Iraq. Islamic charities encourage contributors to use their services to ease suffering and to aid refugees, people affected by natural disasters, the urban poor, and those in conflict zones. While the majority of charities operate within the law, several have been shut down on claims that they supported terrorism through donations.

4.Fasting (sawm)

 All healthy adult Muslims are obligated to fast throughout the daylight hours of Ramadan, the ninth month of the Islamic calendar. They rediscover and express thanks for all that God has given them, especially the Qur’an, which was initially revealed during this month, during this brief deprivation. They share the hunger and thirst of the poor throughout Ramadan as a reminder of their Islamic obligation to assist the less fortunate.


Every Muslim must complete the Hajj, or the pilgrimage to Mecca, at least once in their lives. Before setting out on their trek, pilgrims should all be in good bodily and spiritual health. They follow Muhammad’s example by performing several individual and group rituals on each of the days they are in Mecca.

In 2021, almost a 2.5million Muslims from all over the world performed the Hajj. Regardless of their differences, the 58.7 thousand pilgrims who traveled from the UK joined thousands of Muslims from many other nations in completing the identical rites.

Understanding the five pillars and their relevance for Muslims is crucial for fostering positive working relationships at work and for clearing up misconceptions about Muslim beliefs. For instance, Muslim co-workers may ask for lunch breaks, a place to worship, assistance while fasting during Ramadan, or annual leave during the Hajj. These concerns affect all Muslims and are not signs of fundamentalism. Overcoming stereotypes about Muslims can be made easier by better understanding this.

Article Tags:
· · · ·
Article Categories:
Islamic Corner

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.